Saturday, June 23, 2007

Old Currency

Victoria Portrait Series

The first set of British India notes were the 'Victoria Portrait' Series issued in denominations of 10, 20, 50, 100, and 1000. These were unifaced, carried two language panels and were printed on hand-molded paper manufactured at the Laver stock Paper Mills (Portals). The security features incorporated the watermark (GOVERNMENT OF INDIA, RUPEES, two signatures and wavy lines), the printed signature and the registration of the notes.

Rupees Ten Rupees Hundred